Babies are expensive, or Why I love consignment sale season

I hate spending a lot of money of clothes.  Especially small clothes that a certain baby will only wear for a short amount of time.  So I love consignment sale season.  I get most of Tbird’s clothes at the sales, then I don’t mind paying more for the rest.   It’s not that I can’t pay full price, it’s that I don’t like to do it.

In the spring I bought almost her entire wardrobe in two different sales.  I paid about $100 total for it.  Winter of course is a bit different.  You need more options and layers, plus she’s older and messier now.  So I have to buy  more than I did just a few months ago.  Still, I love getting a good deal. 

I went to one sale already and have two more on my calendar for the end of the month.  I bought Tbird a bunch of clothes in 9-12 and 12-18 months for the fall and winter.  I even splurged and bought a $10 Gymboree dress.  Yes, that’s a splurge for me at one of these sales.  It was too cute to pass up. 

It’s not a great picture, but the dress is an orange corduroy with colorful buttons.  So stinking cute!

I love the Just Between Friends sales.  They’re usually big and well-organized, but sometimes people seem a little too proud of the second-hand clothing that they’re selling.  JBF sales are all over the country.  The Fort Worth one is HUGE! However, that means if you go during peak hours it will be packed.  I went to the new mom sale last year and had to wait in line to get in.  And wait in a long line to pay.  It was nice to have first pick of the merchandise, but I would rather not have to stand around so long.   Now that I know how busy it is in the beginning, I just wait for a day or two into the sale.

Divine Consign is actually my favorite.  It’s a decent size and not as crazy or overwhelming as JBF FW.  They have a great selection, and I have found that the prices seem to be a little better.  They also require that if an item is battery-powered it must have batteries in it to sell.  This way you can test it out before you buy it.

Some tips for consignment sale shopping:

  1. Have an idea of what you’re looking for.  I’m a list person, I like to write lists.  I write a vague list of what types of things and sizes I want. 
  2. Be flexible.  If you’re looking for something very specific, chances are you won’t find the exact item.  It might be better to make it or buy it full price.
  3. If you want a big-ticket item get there early.  The strollers and furniture can go fast.  Especially if it’s in really good condition and well priced.  You don’t have to cart it around the whole sale with you.  They always have tags to reserve the larger items so you can pick them up in the back.
  4. Be prepared.  Be ready to go through racks and racks of clothes that you may or may not be interested in to find a gem.  (This is the worst part to me because I hate to dig through clothes).  I also like to bring a laundry basket to hold all of the things I pick up.  Baby clothes, while small, can get heavy fast.
  5. Bring a friend.  I went by myself so I had nobody to get opinions from this last time and it’s no fun.  If you’re grabbing a bunch of clothes you might have to stop periodically to make sure you have things that go together.  It’s good to have another person there to help with this.   You should also check everything before you buy it to look for holes or stains.  They volunteers/workers check before things are sold, but they don’t catch everything.  Another set of eyes can help you spot potential problems with the clothing.

Happy Consignment Sale Season to you! (I’ll probably post pictures of some of the things I buy when I’m done with my shopping.)

About thealanna

I'm a breatfeeding, babywearing, cosleeping, stay at home mom. I recently moved from working full time stay at home. This blog will mostly be random posts about my big changes- the baby, my new experiences at home; and my baby steps to remain who I am while I also learn and grow into a new person, mother, wife. I don't really expect anyone will read this besides me, so it will mostly just be ramboling, if I ever update.
This entry was posted in baby steps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

